Elections 2008, Published articles

Election 2008 The Thunderbird article

Here is the link to my article published on the Thunderbird with regards to New Canadian voter sentiments.

It is interesting to see how people negotiate their identities during election time.

http://thethunderbird.ca/2008/10/06/new-immigrant-every-single-vote-counts/

Faiza Zia Khan

1 thought on “Election 2008 The Thunderbird article”

  1. I don’t consider myself a neophyte when it comes to Canadian politics but this time around even I was confused about who to vote for. I could not find the views of the people running in my riding. Furthermore, overhearing conversations at a Pakistani dinner gathering, I got mixed messages regarding the Liberals. Apparently, people there believed that the Liberals are in fact social conservatives here in BC. I ended up voting for the Green Party because I am a sucker for the underdog. Overall though it was an underwhelming experience to vote for the first time. But I will do it again without hesitation as in a democracy there can be no greater civic responsibility. Great article!

Leave a Reply

